“Love is a Fallacy” by Max Shulman

by kattomic

“Love is a Fallacy” by Max Shulmam

10.29.12

Story 298/366

My mother was a big Max Shulman (created of Dobie Gillis) fan and his books were always around the house. And as with everything printed in the house, I was free to read to read his books when my mother was through with them. I found out that some of my friends’ parents were not so open-minded when the mother of the girl I’d loaned Rally Round the Flag Boys (a precursor to Thank You For Smoking) showed up at our house demanding to speak to my mother because Schulman’s book had scandalized her daughter. (I knew her daughter well and the last thing her mother needed to worry about was what she read!) A really messy version of “Love is a Fallacy” can be read here.

See you tomorrow!

