“Singing Songs and Telling Stories About the Land of My Fathers” by Rob Hopcott

by kattomic

“Singing Songs and Telling Stories About the Land of my Fathers” by Rob Hopcott

06.17.12

Story 167/366

My father was a storyteller. His motto was, “Never let the truth get in the way of a good story” and he freely embellished and embroidered and fiddled and fabricated until stories took on lives of their own. That was a good thing because he would often tell his stories more than once.  My friends adored him. When my sister was little, he invented a new way of reading the story of “Little Red Riding Hood” that involved naming more and more elaborate goodies to go into the basket Red was taking to Grandma’s House. “And a peach pie!” my father would say. “And macaroni and cheese!” my sister would answer. They could go on like that for a very long time, sometimes to the dismay of my mother, because my sister was an insomniac even as a child and getting her to bed every night was a chore.  I wanted to find a story about fathers for Father’s Day and found it to be harder than I would have thought. This flash fiction from UK author Rob Hopcott sounded promising. It is a story of a bo who grows up without a father but learns about him in a most unexpected way. You can find it here. You can find Hopcott’s other fiction on his site.  I did grow up with a father and now I tell his stories. Happy Father’s Day all.

See you tomorrow!

