Prudence and the Dragon, by Zen Cho

by audreyhoman

#47: Prudence and the Dragon, by Zen Cho

Synopsis: A dragon comes to London and falls in love with a med student and feeds her fairies. This does not impress her.

“Prudence—” Angela dropped her hands in her lap. “OK. All that never mind. But tell me honestly, OK. Do you like him? Like, like him like him?”

“No,” said Prudence. “I don’t even like him with one like.”

“I heard that,” said Zheng Yi from the kitchen.

“Then are you just going to let him hang around?”

“How to make him go away? When I try to call police I only get the Worshipful Company of Glaziers receptionist,” said Prudence. “But never mind. I sleep with baseball bat one side, kitchen knife on the other side. And you know I do taekwondo.”

“I also heard that,” said Zheng Yi.

“Good!” said Prudence.

Angela still looked worried.

“At least you’ll tell me if you are going to another dimension, right?” she said. “You know we booked the bed-and-breakfast in Lake District already.”

“I’m not going anywhere,” said Prudence.

“I live in hope,” said Zheng Yi, coming to the table. He laid a crockpot of stew on the table.

With a supernatural effort at politeness, Angela said, “Oh, that smells delicious. What is it?”

“Potatoes, carrots, swede, some grated apple for sweetness, fairies for protein. But only non-sentient ones,” said Zheng Yi reassuringly. “Fairies are terribly good for you.”

They were also quite crunchy, and froze well.

A lot like Joan Aiken’s Armitage stories, but with more Prudence. And a mayor concerned about bicycle lanes.

“Prudence and the Dragon” is available online for free. Also, I very much like Zen Cho’s stories.

