This is not who I thought it was…

by kattomic

Awhile back, I posted a story called “When I Was Dead” by Vincent O’Sullivan and posted a picture of the writer to illustrate it. Yesterday a writer named Douglas Anderson contacted me because he’s been searching for a good photo of O’Sullivan for his website about Lesser-Known Writers. (Check it out here.)

I sent him to the website where I found the picture. He contacted the website owner who told him she got the photo from a book. turns out  Anderson had the book in is own library, Oscar Wilde’s London.  The photo is on page 179 and identified as the composer Sir Arthur Seymour Sullivan.  So–a mistake was made and then I perpetuated it.

It’s good to be reminded that not everything you see on the Internet is accurate. I apologize for the mistake.

