Faces in Revolving Souls, by Caitlin R. Kiernan

by audreyhoman

#38: “Faces in Revolving Souls” by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Synopsis: Cons can be a hard place to be shunned by the in-crowd. Especially if you’re recovering from surgery.

“I was afraid you might have missed your flight,” she says, and Sylvia knows that what she really means is, I was afraid you’d chickened out. Fera’s voice is not so slurred or difficult to understand as the leopard’s. She’s had almost a decade to learn the mechanics of her new mandibular and lingual musculature, years to adapt to her altered tongue and palate.

“I just needed to unpack,” Sylvia tells her. “I can’t stand leaving my suitcases packed.”

“I have some friends in the bar who would like to meet you,” Fera purrs. “I’ve been telling them about your work.”

“Oh,” Sylvia whispers, because she hadn’t expected that and doesn’t know what else to say.

“Faces in Revolving Souls” is free online at Lightspeed Magazine.

