“I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream” by Harlan Ellison

by kattomic

“I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream” by Harlan Ellison

03.15.12

Story 74/366

In many ways, this short story breaks all the rules. The title is the punchline of the story so as you read, you’re anticipating it. And yet, when it comes, it still comes with a kick in the gut. I am a huge fan of Harlan Ellison’s short fiction. If I ever made a list of my 100 favorite short stories, stories he’s written would probably make up 10 percent of the list.  According to Wikipedia, he’s published nearly 2000 short stories, novels, novellas, screenplays and works of criticism. He’s won a slew of awards too—Edgars, Hugos, Nebulas. There’s a terric documentary about him, Dreams With Sharp Teeth, that used to be streaming on Netflix. You can see the trailer for it here.  Someone in the trailer says, “Harlan Ellison should be read in schools.” I agree. “I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream” can be found in a collection of the same name, first published in 1967 and reprinted in the 80s.

See you tomorrow!

